The 13th Annual Invader Crusader Awards

Each year, the Wisconsin Invasive Species Council is requests nominations for individuals, groups, or organizations to be recognized for their exemplary efforts at addressing issues surrounding terrestrial and aquatic invasive species, including plants, pests, animals and disease-causing organisms.

The nomination period is now closed and judging is in progress. Winners and their nominators will be contacted directly. Watch this space for updates!

Recipients of the awards will be recognized at an awards ceremony on June 8th taking place at MacKenzie Environmental Center in Poynette, WI. Award recipients will be announced on the Invasive Species Awareness Month website and in the news media.

2016 Award Winners

Recipients of the awards were recognized at an awards ceremony on June 9th at 1:00PM, taking place at Horicon Marsh Educational Center in Horicon, Wisconsin. The video by the contest winner was featured at the ceremony as well! View the 2016 Ceremony Program.

2016 Invader Crusaders

Winners in the Volunteer Individual category:

  • Debra Feirer
  • Fritz Funk
  • Fred and Mary Kueffer
  • Valerie Stabenow

Winners in the Professional Individual category:

  • Tim Campbell
  • Michelle Nault
  • Brock Woods

Winners in the Volunteer Group category:

  • Lower Chippewa Invasive Species Partnership
  • Mequon Nature Preserve Restoration Rangers
  • Sauk Prairie Conservation Alliance

Winner of the Sustaining Crusader Award:

  • Mike Fort

Other Invasive Species Awareness Month Activities…..

Do you have an invasive species event you would like to advertise on our online invasive species activity calendar?
Email the details to

Previous Invader Crusader Award Winners


Volunteer Individual category:

  • Sherry Speth
  • Paul Molzina
  • Jamie Kosloski

Professional Individual category:

  • Christal Campbell
  • Kaycie Stushek

Volunteer Group category:

  • Friends of MacKenzie Center
  • Florence County Lakes and Rivers Association


Volunteer Individual category:

  • Judy Ruch
  • Greg Karch
  • Tammy Bieberstein

Professional Individual category:

  • Chrystal Seeley-Schreck
  • Tom Ward
  • Jason Nickels
  • Mike Yanny

Volunteer Group category:

  • Girl Scout Troop #2789, Volunteer Group

Professional Group category:

  • Door County Invasive Species Team, Professional Group


Professional Individual – Government category:

  • Mindy Wilkinson at Wisconsin DNR

Professional Individual category:

  • Anne Kretschmann at the North Lakeland Discovery Center

Volunteer Individual category:

  • Habitat Healers at the Riveredge Nature Center
  • Melissa Warner

Volunteer Individual – Nonprofit category:

  • Daniel Wallace at the Friends of Brooklyn Wildlife Area


  • Phil Pellitteri
  • Youth Environmental Projects of Sauk County (YEPS)
  • Martha and John Lunz
  • Jerry Ziegler
  • Eric Tarman-Ramcheck
  • Ted Ritter


  • Carol AveLallemant
  • Jack Rasmussen
  • Lee and Mary Krueger
  • Milwaukee County Parks Department/UW-Extension Natural Areas
  • Brian Swingle
  • Paul Skawinski
  • Mark Renz
  • Wild Rivers Invasive Species Coalition


  • Alycia Crall
  • Ron Richter
  • Lawanda Jungwirth and Audrey Ruedinger
  • Transportation and Utility Rights-of-Way BMPs
  • Tom Boos & Bernie Williams
  • Diane Schauer
  • Connie Ramthun
  • Peter Flaherty
  • Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center


  • Susan Kenney
  • Roma Lenehan & Glenda Denniston
  • Peter Layton
  • Bill Moore
  • Southeastern Wisconsin Invasive Species Consortium, Inc.
  • Gypsy Moth Suppression Team


  • Jerry Doll
  • Gene Roark
  • Greg Long
  • Ron Martin
  • Ryan Everson
  • Northwoods Cooperative Weed Management Area


  • Baraboo Hills Stewardship Volunteers
  • Tom Boos
  • Kathie and Tom Brock
  • Linda Spelshaus
  • Laura Felda-Marquardt
  • Eunice Padley
  • Becky Sapper
  • Rick Shulte


  • Vilas County Aquatic Invasive Species Partnership
  • Vilas County Lakes Association
  • Jane Swenson
  • Amy Staffen
  • Mike Fort
  • South Central Region State Natural Area Crew
  • Rhonda Reisenbuechler
  • Gigi La Budde
  • Fred Clark


  • St. Catherine’s High School Environmental Club
  • Terri Lyon
  • Betty Czarapata
  • Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission
  • Kelly Kearns
  • Kristin Westad